Teen Program: Dry Erase Boards

The 4-1-1:

When: October 17th, 5:30 – 7:00pm
Resource(s): DIY Magnetic Dry Erase Board
How many teens: 6 teens
Cost/Supplies: $15.68

  • 5×7 frames (3): $2.85
  • 4 x 6 frames (2): $1.90
  • 8×10 frames (3): $5.88
  • Scrap Book Paper: $5.00
  • Duct Tape: $0, already had
  • Ribbon: $0, already had
  • Hot glue guns: $0, already had

The run-down:

The is another one I feel a bit silly posting, but I couldn’t resist posting the teen results. The actual construction of the frames is simple. You put in a piece of scrap book paper/fabric/brightly colored paper in place of a photo and then decorate the frame. That is literally it. I’m pretty sure this was my easiest craft to date, but the teens loved it and had a lot of fun making them.

Take-away/lessons learned:

  • 90 minutes was a tad too long, but most of the teens weren’t finished too much before the end. I would say 60 minutes would be a better time frame, especially if you don’t have a lot of talkers. (Mine LOVE to talk and are basically all friends with each other now.)

  • Don’t worry too much about what to decorate the frames with. All I did was go through my left-over craft supplies and pulled anything I thought would be useful. It was a random hodge podge of things, but the teens had plenty of things to choose from.

  • Glitter ribbon is as bad is regular glitter.

  • This craft is really on the teens. If you have a group that needs precise step-by-step directions/are not overly creative, this may be one you want to skip. For example, I tried to make my sample while in a non-creative mood and basically ended up with a black frame with glitter on it. (I wouldn’t even show the teens mine, lol) So these can either end up super cute or a super fail.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “Teen Program: Dry Erase Boards

  1. Hi there,
    I have loved reading all your teen events – i am looking at starting a teen book club at the Waiuku Library, NZ and i have been needing ideas. Yours have been super helpful.

    However just a question – when you say frame – is it just a photograph frame that they decorate and then the glass becomes the ” dry erase whiteboard”

    Thanks 🙂
    Sam

    Like

    1. Hi! I’m glad you’ve been able to find some useful things here! And yes, it’s just a picture frame where the glass is the “dry erase board” The fabric/background was put in in place of a picture!

      Like

Leave a comment